Tag: Regional Advisory Council

Some regional facts

The West of England Home Service is broadcast from three transmitters. Start Point, with a power of 120 kilowatts, broadcasts on a wavelength of 307 metres, Clevedon, 20 kilowatts, and Bartley, 10 kilowatts, on a common wavelength of 217 metres.

The wavelengths available for British broadcasting are allotted by international agreement. A region is as big as the range of its transmitters. Its boundaries are mainly dictated by the ability of listeners within the area to receive its signals at all times in good strength and with proper definition and quality.

The West Region is guided by three advisory bodies — the Regional Advisory Council, the Religious Advisory Committee and the Regional Appeals Committee.

Acknowledgments are due to the following for permission to reproduce photographs : —

  • Plymouth Industrial Photos Ltd. for city by night.
  • ‘Salisbury Journal’ for up in the morning early.
  • ‘Evening World’, Bristol, for rugby players.
  • Central Press Photos Limited for boys wrestling and music while you work.
  • ‘The Times’ for an interlude in a royal tour.
  • ‘Picture Post’ library for my longest five minutes.
  • Pictorial Press for getting down to it and you can just hear a cock-pheasant in the background.
  • Messrs. Chandler, Exeter, for doyen of regional dramatists.
  • Desmond Tripp, Bristol, for west of england edition.
  • The relief map of the West of England is by Messrs. George Philip & Son, Limited.

Originally published by the British Broadcasting Corporation, The Grammar School, Searle Road, Wembley, Middlesex.

Printed by William Brown & Co. Ltd., 11-12, Bury Street, St. Mary Axe, E.C.3. No. 2311

Transdiffusion presentation

The West Regional Advisory Council and Committees

West Regional Advisory Council

  • Sir Philip Morris, C.B.E. (Chairman).
  • Major C. E. Awdry.
  • The Rt. Rev. the Lord Bishop of Bristol.
  • C. F. Carr.
  • The Rt. Hon. Isaac Foot.
  • E. H. Gardener.
  • Lt.-Col. J. A. Garton, M.C.
  • Group Gapt. D. Gilley, D.F.C.
  • The Hon. John Grigg.
  • L. A. Guillemette, M.B.E.
  • H. Harfoot.
  • Mrs. H. M. Houstoun-Barnes.
  • The Hon. Lady Inskip.
  • E. H. Littlecott.
  • Miss M. E. Miles.
  • F. D. Newcombe.
  • Brigadier A. L. W. Newth, C.B.E., D.S.O., M.C., T.D.
  • Mrs. L. G. Nicoll.
  • M. Petherick.
  • C. D. Ross, O.B.E.
  • W. G. Stacey.
  • The Countess Waldegrave.
  • Mrs. D. Woollcombe.

West Regional Religious Advisory Committee

  • The Rt. Rev. the Lord Bishop of Bristol (Chairman).
  • The Rev. L. Babb.
  • Professor R. J. Brocklehurst.
  • A. L. Creed.
  • The Rev. H. F. Lovell Cocks, D.D.
  • The Rev. A. Dakin, D.Th.
  • The Very Rev. Canon G. Ford.
  • The Rev. W. T. Hinsley.
  • The Rt. Rev. John Holden.
  • The Rev. Canon Spencer Leeson.
  • The Rt. Rev. the Lord Bishop of Plymouth.
  • Miss J. E. Stallard.
  • The Rev. E. J. White.

West Regional Appeals Advisory Committee

  • Lt.-Col. J. A. Garton, M.C. (Chairman).
  • C. H. Bones.
  • W. F. Cottrell.
  • Mrs. C. Fuller.
  • The Very Rev. E. M. Porter-Goff.
  • The Rt. Rev. the Lord Bishop of Truro.
  • Sir Philip Williams.
  • Major H. S. L. Wolley.

Powered by WordPress & Theme by Anders Norén